Emeritus Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen will deliver a Plenary Address to kick-off ISRIUM 2017 in the afternoon on Sunday, June 18th. The title of his talk is Information Technology needs Organic Chemistry: Graphene Nanoribbons as Molecular Semiconductors Prof. Müllen was director at the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research. Since the beginning of 2016, he holds an emeritus position for continuation of his research there and is a Fellow of the Gutenberg Research College of Mainz University. His broad research interests range from new polymer-forming reactions, to the chemistry and physics of single molecules as well as graphenes, dendrimers and biosynthetic hybrids. He has published about 1700 papers. He received the Max Planck Forschungspreis; Philip Morris Forschungspreis; Nozoe-Award; Science Award of the “Stifterverband”; Innovation Award of the State of North Rhine Westphalia; Nikolaus August Otto Award; Society of Polymer Science Japan International Award; ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry; Tsungming Tu Award, Taiwan; BASF-Award for Organic Electronics; Franco-German Award of the Sociéte Chimique de France; Adolf-von-Baeyer-Medal; Utz-Hellmuth-Felcht Award, SGL Group; China Nano Award; Carl Friedrich Gauß-Medal, van’t Hoff Award of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences as well as the Hermann-Staudinger Award. From 2008-2009 he served as president of the German Chemical Society (GDCh). In 2013-2014 he was president of the German Association for the Advancement of Science and Medicine. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, North-Rhine-Westphalian Academy for Sciences and Art, National Academy Leopoldina, European Academy of Sciences (EURASC), and Braunschweigische Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft. In 2010 he received an Advanced ERC Grant for his work on nanographenes. He is associate editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

The complete (current) list of invited speakers who will be giving talks at ISRIUM 2017 is given below in alphabetical order. This list will be updated periodically.

Manabu Abe Hiroshima University, Japan
Igor Alabugin Florida State University, USA
Holger Bettinger Universität Tübingen, Germany
Wes Borden University of North Texas, USA
Udo Brinker University of Vienna, Austria/SUNY-Binghamton, USA
Peter Chen ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Michael Doyle University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Daniel Falvey University of Maryland, USA
Malcolm Forbes Bowling Green State University, USA
Hiroshi Fujii Nara Women’s University, Japan
Marc Greenberg Johns Hopkins University, USA
Anna Gudmundsdottir University Of Cincinnati, USA
Rainer Herges Universität Kiel, Germany
Michal Juríček University of Zurich, Switzerland
Steven Kaas University of Minnesota, USA
Petr Klán Masaryk University, Czech Republic
Takashi Kubo Osaka University, Japan
Koop Lammertsma VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands
Jeehiun Lee Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA/ Columbia University, USA
Yan Li Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
David Martin Université Grenoble Alpes, France
Herbert Mayr Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
Robert McMahon University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Dina Merrer Barnard College, USA
Josef Michl University of Colorado, USA/Institute of Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry, AS CR, Czech Republic
Klaus Müllen Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Vinh Nguyen University of New South Wales, Australia
Patrick Nürnberger Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany
David Lee Phillips University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Vladimir Popik University of Georgia, USA
Stanislav Presolski Yale-NUS College, Singapore
Paul Rablen Swarthmore College, USA
Leo Radom University of Sydney, Australia
Igor Reva Center of Chemistry of Coimbra, Portugal
Elsa Sanchez-Garcia Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Wolfram Sander Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany
Peter Schreiner Justus-Liebig-Universität, Germany
Bagrat Shainyan Irkutsk Institute of Chemistry, Russia
Dan Singleton Texas A&M University, USA
Marcin Stępień University of Wroclaw, Poland
Mihaiela Stuparu Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Dean Tantillo University of California Davis, USA
John Toscano Johns Hopkins University, USA
Curt Wentrup University of Queensland, Australia
Jishan Wu National University of Singapore, Singapore
Shmuel Zilberg Ariel University, Israel
Laura Zoppi Tianjin University, China